• The Special Education program at Mountain Lakes High School provides classified students with a variety of educational services and supports.

    Students have the opportunity to improve their work, study, and organizational skills in a class entitled Learning Strategies. This class reviews basic academic concepts and reinforces curriculum goals.

    In-class-support is offered in a co-teaching instructional setting in a number of classes throughout various curricular disciplines. Both general education and special education teachers collaborate to provide instructional accommodations to students.

    Small-group instruction is provided in English, Social Studies, and Math to students who may benefit from a more individualized educational approach. In some cases, 1:1 instructional aides are provided for students who need closely monitored assistance.

    Students’ educational programs are administered and monitored by the MLHS Child Study Team.
     
    MLHS Special Education Staff:
    Building First Name Last Name Position Subject/Dept. Grade email
    MLHS Kathleen Banks Resource Teacher Special Services kbanks@mlschools.org
    MLHS Rob Cadigan Paraprofessional Special Services rcadigan@mlschools.org
    MLHS Robert DeMuth Psychologist Special Services rdemuth@mlschools.org
    MLHS Kerry DiGiacinto Director of Special Services Special Services kdigiacinto@mlschools.org
    MLHS Bridgett Dorney Resource Teacher Special Services bdorney@mlschools.org
    MLHS Dawn Durkin Resource Teacher Special Services ddurkin@mlschools.org
    MLHS Michael Ferguson Resource Teacher Special Services mferguson@mlschools.org
    MLHS Darrell Fusco Resource Teacher Special Services dfusco@mlschools.org
    MLHS Diane Geveke Resource Teacher Special Services dgeveke@mlschools.org
    MLHS Karen Helmer Paraprofessional Special Services khelmer@mlschools.org
    MLHS Tara McNaboe Resource Teacher Special Services tmcnaboe@mlschools.org
    MLHS Debra Merian Paraprofessional Special Services dmerian@mlschools.org
    MLHS Maria Petinakis Paraprofessional Special Services mpetinakis@mlschools.org
    MLHS Jeffrey Reid Resource Teacher Special Services jreid@mlschools.org
    MLHS Anisa Serheev Resource Teacher Special Services aserheev@mlschools.org
    MLHS Trish Spence-Reid Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultants Special Services tspence-reid@mlschools.org
    MLHS Dina Sweifach Social Worker Special Services dsweifach@mlschools.org